Theme

The theme of INTERSPEECH 2017 isĀ Situated interaction.
Face-to-face interaction is the primary use of speech, and arguably also the richest, most effective and most natural kind of speech communication. The situation, context and human behaviors are intrinsic parts that continuously shape and form the interaction. In attempting to understand this situated interaction, we face a fruitful and real challenge for the speech communication community: To investigate what kinds of situational awareness, social sensibilities and conversational abilities we should endow machines with for them to engage in conversations with humans on human terms.

INTERSPEECH 2017 emphasizes an interdisciplinary approach covering all aspects of speech science and technology spanning basic theories to applications. In addition to regular oral and poster sessions, the conference will also feature plenary talks by internationally renowned experts, tutorials, special sessions, show & tell sessions, and exhibits. A number of satellite events will take place immediately before and after the conference. Please follow the details which will be published at the INTERSPEECH website interspeech2017.org.

Important dates

Thursday, 1 December 2016 Satellite Workshops proposals deadline
Thursday, 8 December 2016 Special Sessions and Challenges proposals deadline
Friday, 16 December 2016 Notification of pre-selection of Special Sessions
Saturday, 17 December 2016 Notification of accepted workshops
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 Tutorial proposals submission deadline
Wednesday, 1 March 2017 Tutorial notification of acceptance
Tuesday, 14 March 2017 Paper submission deadline
Tuesday, 21 March 2017 Final paper submission PDF upload
Monday, 22 May 2017 Paper notification of acceptance
Monday, 5 June 2017 Camera-ready paper due
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 Early registration deadline
20-24 August 2017 Conference in Stockholm, Sweden